Misquoting Jesus by Bart Ehrman

Posted: March 19, 2011 by justmeangie in General

I am currently reading this book. It’s pretty interesting so far and I hope to write a response when I’ve finished. I like that Ehrman, who started out as a bornagain Biblical literalist, honestly was not out to prove anything, but only to find truth. After following the logic and evidence for 30 years, he is now an agnostic and New Testament scholar. To read about that step-by-step process reminds me of my own “deconversion” even though our journeys were very different.

Anyone else read this book or plan to? What are your thoughts?

Comments
  1. Nate says:

    Hey Angie,
    I’ve read Misquoting Jesus, and I thought it was good for the same reasons you listed above. The things that really stood out to me were the problems between manuscripts and the passages in our Bibles that were actually added in later — that was a HUGE revelation to me.

    I also suggest his follow up book Jesus, Interrupted. I actually like it a little better. Hope you continue to enjoy these!

  2. justmeangie says:

    Thanks for the suggestion, Nate. I will definitely add it to my books-to-read list. I’m hoping to finish Misquoting Jesus before the little one comes, but that may or may not happen. 🙂 Next on my list are A Brief History of Time by Stephan Hawking and Pale Blue Dot by Carl Sagan.

Leave a Reply

