New Adventures

Posted: March 4, 2011 by justmeangie in Atheism, General, Parenting
Tags: , , , ,

I realize that this blog has not been updated in quite some time. I apologize for the lack of entries. There really are a lot of topics I’d like to tackle and I even have several incomplete entries that I’m hoping to get back to eventually, but circumstances have changed a bit for skepticalProgrammer and me. We are expecting our first little one in just a few short weeks!

So now begins a new journey. We are no longer simply trying to figure out how to live in the Bible Belt as an atheist couple, how to deal with super conservative religious family members, and how to sort out our own thoughts after having spent nearly all our lives truly believing and following religious doctrines. We still have all of that to deal with, plus we are once again in unfamiliar territory as new parents trying to figure out how to raise a skeptical and freethinking child who will be able to look at the world openly and honestly and come to his own conclusions about life and philosophy. What a daunting task! Really though, we couldn’t be happier.

The blog may take a bit of a different direction based on these changes in our lives, but I’m hoping to continue to write entries and have discussions that deal with the underlying basic issues and concerns that skepticalProgrammer and I have with religion and supernatural belief systems. I imagine there might be quite a few posts about the challenges and joys of secular parenting mixed in there as well though.

Either way, I wish you all the best and hope to continue the dialog that has been developing through the blog!

Comments
  1. Nate says:

    I just ran across your blog, but it looks really interesting! My wife and I are also recent “deconverts,” and we also live in the Bible Belt. We’ve got 3 kids — thankfully they’re all very young; it would have been difficult to go through these religious (and family) issues if they were more aware of what was happening. Anyway, I’ll continue to check back here for future posts!

    • justmeangie says:

      Hi Nate! I am still “in the closet” with most of my family, but my big fear is that if I don’t tell them soon, the little one will eventually just say something that completely shocks them. I have a couple of friends who have a 6-year-old who went to church with her grandparents one Sunday. During Sunday school they were talking about Jesus and she says, “But Jesus isn’t REAL!” She honestly didn’t understand why everyone was acting as if he were a real person. It is a funny story, but something like that happening with my own child and family is scary for me to consider because it would have major implications for our relationships.

      Anyway, thanks for the feedback and I wish you and your family all the best! It can be tough being “different” from the culture in which you live, but it sounds like you and your wife are handling these issues well. šŸ™‚

  2. Nate says:

    Yeah, my oldest is 7, and she told her grandmother (in Bible class) that God didn’t really kill all the 1st born in the 10th plague. That was fun… šŸ™‚

    We weren’t able to stay in the closet for long, though we probably would have if we hadn’t gone to the same church as my in-laws. We were members of a Church of Christ, which is a very conservative group, so we’ve since been “withdrawn” from. It’s been difficult, and I plan to write about it soon. Almost all of our relationships were with people who have since severed their ties with us, so it’s been quite an adjustment. But things are good within our home, and that’s the main thing. We’re slowly trying to branch out into new friendships, etc. Good luck as you continue to navigate all the complications this kind of thing brings.

    And congratulations on the baby!

  3. mamawonder says:

    Hello! I’ve got one foot still in the closet due to being in the bible-belt, as well. I guess I haven’t “came out” about my atheism completely because my grandparents (he’s a pastor) would be devastated. My friends know, and that has been difficult inn some ways. One couple told my husband and I they feel sorry for my daughter(who just turned one) because she has atheist parents! It’s really refreshing to read your posts. xx

Leave a Reply

