Question for Theists: Why do you believe?

Posted: July 1, 2010 by justmeangie in Atheism, General
Tags: , , , ,

In a recent post, I laid out some of the most important reasons for me personally not believing in a deity. I am curious, however, as to what theists view as the most compelling evidence or logic for their belief, first of all, that a divine being exists and, secondly, why you chose your particular religion over others. I read a lot of apologetics about the nature of god and his supposed texts, but very little concerning these two fundamental questions and certainly nothing compelling or logically sound so far. I’m not trying to start an argument or even a debate and I will appreciate any responses whether I agree with them or not. I am honestly curious.

Thanks in advance!

Comments
  1. mythicsushi says:

    I have been surprised by books such as The God Delusion and God is Not Great that supposedly advocate atheism. I found, however, little in there that really argued for atheism. Those books, and indeed most atheist literature that I’m familiar with, seems most concerned with criticizing religion rather than theism in and of itself.

  2. justmeangie says:

    I think when some people are faced with the contradictions and illogical nature of their particular religion, it can lead to atheism. So in practical terms, criticizing religion can be helpful for atheism. Philosophically, I can agree with your statement.

  3. Howdy! To jump in I think that is a very complicated question for many theists. I am learning that blog entries are better recieved if they are shorter and, even though I do actually intend to write a blog post soon that is relatively on this topic (though I doubt I awill spend much time in that post on why Christianity and not something else), it is VERY difficult to write a concise entry on THAT kind of topic. Now, I know for CERTAIN that it is more complicated than that, but I think that ordeal of it all, combined with the complexity of our answers, plays a small part. Another piece is that it is very much more difficult to support a positive (“I believe”) statement than it is to attempt to strike one down.

    That said, I’ll try to write about that eventually.

Leave a Reply

